Armed with tools. And, an idea!

So, I have these ideas of grandeur where I make beautiful artistic pieces worthy of a place at the MoMA – Museum of Modern Art in New York City. Yes, grandeur!!

One of my goals for this year is to work with metals and to diversify the type of product that I offer. In other words, to not rely solely on beading but to reach out to a different clientele, and most importantly, fulfill my goals and dreams.

My first shot will be to use aluminium artistic wire to do free form statement pieces. I have practiced with copper wire before and on 20 gauge wire to form my own earring components and to do bead wrapping. This will be my first time working on larger items.

The items I’ve purchased so far are: –

  • Beadsmith Lightweight Jeweler’s Rubber/Plastic Double Hammer
  • Beadsmith Wire Whacker
  • Beadsmith Aluminium 12 Gauge Wire

To prepare myself I have done some reading on how to use these items and I had a brief conversation with the store manager before purchasing them.  He advised initially to purchase the Whacker only but I decided to get the hammer, too.

Here starts this journey! Let’s see how this all turns out.

Do you work with wire? Or, metals? Is there any advice that you can share with me? 

Thank you!!!

—Tasha, UYJ

I would love to hear from you!

